If you want to discuss or chat with a group of people, most people use group chats in the Messages app on their iPhone or iPad. However, since people have different opinions or preferences, removing someone who is not needed in a group chat can be challenging if you have never done it before. Apple has made it possible to remove someone from a thread to ensure they no longer see the messages sent to a group. Here are the steps that you need to follow:
Open the iMessage group thread
Open the ‘Messages’ app on your iPad or iPhone. When the app opens, the home screen will appear displaying all your open conversation threads. Scroll down to the group chat where you want to remove a participant. Once you have selected the thread, tap the ‘I’ icon that’s found at the upper right corner of the screen. A details window will appear with the name and phone numbers of all the participants in the group.
Select the number to remove
Scroll down the list of participants until you find the name or the phone number of the participant you want to remove from the thread. Swipe a finger from right to left across the participant’s name/phone number until a red box starts to appear with the word ‘remove’. Remove your finger from the screen.
Remove the contact from the group chat
The red box that has the word ‘remove’ will appear to the right of the name of the person/participant you want to remove. Go ahead and tap ‘remove’. You will see a dialog box from the bottom of the screen asking if you want to remove that particular number or person from the group chat. Confirm the selection by tapping the red ‘remove’ button. After you’ve confirmed, the person/number will be removed from the group chat permanently.
That’s it! Now you have successfully removed someone from a Message app group chat. Alternatively if you want to send a message to just one recipient, exit the group thread and send the message to the desired contact.